Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Character, Race and Proffesions

There are two fixed aspects to any character created: race and profession.
The selection of one of five playable races determines the appearance of the character and gives a flavor to the character in combat with versatile racial skills and through a personal storyline with the unique themes and history of the race. The selection of one of eight available professions determines most of what the character is capable of doing. It restricts the armortype wearable, but more importantly determines how the skill bar is built through the unique game mechanics of the profession, the weapons that can be wielded, and the skills and ability modifiers available. The profession abilities have been emphasized over racial abilities to make sure that each race is equally able to play each profession.

The five playable races of Guild Wars 2 are the Tyrian species that can be selected for player use upon character creation.
The choices that will be available at the game's release are:
  • Asura
  • Charr
  • Human
  • Norn
  • Sylvari
Each of the races has a separate starting area in game, however as the story progresses they are able to interact with other races. The choice of race will, of course, alter the character's personal story. Each race will also have several character modifiers to create a unique backstory, such as the asuran college or human heritage, which will personalise the character's story further.

The 5 playable races.

There will be eight playable professions in the initial release of Guild Wars 2, although not all have been revealed at this time. All professions will be available to each race and are all being designed to be viable to play both alone and in groups. There will be no profession able to use every single weapon available in the game. A character will not be able to change their profession once they have been created.

The professions are divided into three categories based on their level of defense — there will be 3 scholars, 3 adventurers and 2 soldiers, which wear light, medium and heavy armor, respectively.


  • Elementalist — master of the elements; the elementalist changes their elemental attunement mid battle to adapt to any situation.
  • Necromancer — master of the dark arts; the necromancer draws on life force and uses it to strengthen or heal themselves and others.
  • 1 other profession


  • Ranger — master of animals; the ranger calls upon their animal allies to assist them in the field of battle.
  • 2 other professions


  • Warrior — master of weapons; the warrior uses adrenaline to improve their attacks or fuel a powerful burst skill.
  • Guardian — master of protection; virtues enhance the guardian's attack and defense until they are sacrificed to aid allies.

    4 out of the 8 professions revealed so far.


    1. I've only played the first Guild Wars, do you recommend it highly over other MMORPGS?

    2. Ah, i've never played guild wars.. is it cooool?

    3. Is it worth to start playing GW2 if i have never played any games like this?